First Comments from the Group

10 07 2007

In the order that they were written in our notebook:

Jim Visser:  The kids were awesome!!

Courtney DeBoer:  You don’t have to worry about the 50 girls in the shower before you hogging all the hot water because there is none!  Who’s complaining though?  We’re clean 🙂

Andrea Rietveld:  Dear Mom and Dad!
Today my dream came true.  I spoke Spanish all day long and was able to use it with the kids.  I helped translate for the group.  Oh, let me tell you about the group.  Everyone is getting along great and there is no drama.  Everyone gives 110% and the heat hasn’t held anyone back.  Back to the kids.  Today we met about 20 kids and 10 of them hung around.  We learned the word “pato” for duck and “ganzo” for goose.  That game became very popular.  It was great to see the kids so happy!  Now, I can tell you about Peter.  The cutest kid I know!  He has Downs Syndrome but that doesn’t stop him.  It all began when we asked him to come to our VBS program.  He ventured to our work area and, with interest, picked up a hammer and started hammering the couch.  We didn’t feel right having him use a hammer and nails, so we invited him to paint the walls with us.  He did an amazing job and always kept smiling.  Then, when Elizabeth, the new home owner started picking up trash with us, Peter came and got right to work.  He picked up anything with no complaints.  He loved what he was doing and you could tell.  I saw it in his face, actions, smile.  One of the songs we sang said “give us a picture of your face, give us hearts to be your servant.”  That is exactly what I saw in him.  He was a blessing and always will be.  Later, I had time to sit down and talk with Elizabeth, she told me about her life (in Spanish, so I’ll tell you what I caught).  I came to learn that she has lost 3 children and has quit having kids.  She lives with her mother, who is extremely ill.  She is definitely a sad woman, but she always had a smile on.  I think I even caught a few tears.  She was a blessing to me.  I wish that all reading this could experience the love and acceptance of this humble place.  This day alone has changed my views toward what I own.  I am a rich person who just got knocked into reality.  The world is not always rich and cheery.  (However, the kids here are happy all the time.  The adults are the ones struggling.)  I can’t wait to see what the rest of  this week will bring.  I love you all! Love, Andrea

Angela: Hey Mom and Daddy-O!
This was the firs day we really worked, and I realized the actual poverty of the people . But yet the people are All so nice and always mile and wave when they don’t even know us. I can’t hardly put into words about the children, all are weet, beautiful, and care about each other. I also got to play with Peter, and the prettiest little girl who was very skinny and had no shoes, she sat on my lap, not knowing anything about me, knowing I dont speak spanish, and putting trust into me. It also makes me realize how good I have it even after that I cryed though, I’m not homesick , Im not tierd, and it’s not because of the problem I had before I left, with friends. I feel conceited but it seems like everyone here has a friend. It’s at those oments where God reaches out and has someone come and make me laugh, or jus somone who cares. I want to change like that, and I wish that God will move me. Love Angela

Liz Deleeuw: Hey Mom and dad.
So I’m having a really good time and I feel like God is really using our whole group. Its not that hot so thats good. we are getting spoiled too…the food is reallly good! My group is helping a family that house burned down. They are so greatful for everything… I just love them already. This trip is making me be a different person and I’m excited for what God had in store for me and who he is going to form me into. I hope that I become selfless just like all the kids that we met becouse they are so happy with so little. This experiance makes you think and I hope everyone gets to experiance this too; love you and Miss you. Love Liz DeLeeuw

Dana Jongekrijg: Mom and Dad & Jenna
I’m having a really good time here. The plane ride and everything went well. It’s not very hot here which is nice. We are helping build a house for a family whose house burned down and the Lady’s son died in it. We went there and she was so happy that we came and helped here. There whole family is so happy with so little. I see God in them and in a lot of people around here. I think this trip is a great experience for me and I hope I cahnge and instead of thinking of myself, I will learn to think of otheres. I love you gjuys & I miss you! Love Dana Jongekrijg

Dave  spalding: I have been thinkin to day About the old lady in the Bible who gave here couple of coins she had at the alter! It was all she had ! Wow! Then there were the wealthy who gave their 10% or whatever! To him it was a lot of money and he was probobly proud he gave so much. Today the woman House we are Buldig worked with us while her sister made us tortilla’s and grilled chicken, tortilla chips and salsa whith all the toppings. She/They are the woman who gave phone! they probobly spent a months worth of salary ! Wow!! O;h how Lucky we are to be So richs! God changed our hearts to be more like you ! I think our students are getting it! Dave Spaulding.

Allison,Devin, Katelyn, Elizabeth, and Kayleen: Today we started building our one room houses for needy families. Our group is building for and older couple. Although coummincating was hard, we had a good time getting to know the family especially their 4 year old grandaughter. Obviously we reliezed that the family didn’t have much nomey, but they still wanted to repay us with home made rice and bean tocos(she told us beans was all she had.). We also noticed how friendly Everyone was. The people passing in cars always waved, and the kids would come out to see us. We don’t need their tacos as payment though, the way their blessing us is enough….but the tacos were amazing.


Actions

Information

14 responses

10 07 2007
studentsocalvary

Dear Angela,
I loved reading your message. It was so touching, it made me cry. i’m glad see hear God showing you his people (of Mexico) in a way that can touch your heart. You are a such a sweet girl and have so much love to share with others. I’m thinking of you daily and love you very much!

Love,
mom

10 07 2007
Judy

Hey Sarah Payne

Hope everything is going good, grandma is babysitting Charlie, Bert doesn’t like that because he eats all of his food. Sounds like you have some work to do for a family. Hope your having fun I am going to go take a hot shower how. lol I am at the library and will check this blog this is the first time I have done a blog so hopefully this works. Love you and miss you and I am praying for you. Love MOM

10 07 2007
heyjude39@hotmail.com

Hey Sarah

Hope everything is going good, grandma is babysitting Charlie, Bert doesn’t like that because he eats all of his food. Sounds like you have some work to do for a family. Hope your having fun I am going to go take a hot shower how. lol I am at the library and will check this blog this is the first time I have done a blog so hopefully this works. Love you and miss you and I am praying for you. Love MOM

10 07 2007
heyjude39@hotmail.com

Hi Sarah it is hot here don’t know if the first one went through having Eric Try. Love you praying for you mom

10 07 2007
Steve & Melba L

Hi Girls,
It’s great to hear you’re having a good time working!! We think about all of you and hope and pray all is going well and it certainly seems like it is! Keep smiling and working for the Lord and the people will see Jesus in your face and actions, even if you can’t speak their language.
Take care!!!
Love,
Steve & Melba Lubben

10 07 2007
Tina Miedema

Angela,
I’m not sure if you received my first note, so here’s my second one…it’s very similiar to the first one…
I was so touched by your heart felt note, it made me cry happy tears. I’m so glad god is using you to touch other people’s lives in Mexico. You are such a loving and caring young lady and have so much to give. That little girl must have known what a gentle spirit you are, to know she could trust you enough to sit on your lap.
I think of you daily and love you very much.

Mom (Tina)

10 07 2007
Rachy

Hey Sha Sha!! I am SO glad to hear that you are enjoying yourself and learning so much. I knew that this would be a great experience for you, and I am so glad that you decided to do it. I am glad that you are being nice to those little kids….see, you like them! haha. I am praying for you everday! Trust in God and you will have nothing to worry about…but it seems that your worries are going away already. 🙂 Love you and miss you! Love, Rachy

10 07 2007
Nana

Hi Angela,

Its so great to hear you are learning so much about the people there and yourself. It is wonderful to hear that the people appreciate so much you being there. See, YOU can make a difference in other people’s lives and that is very important. God’s work is what makes us happy. You are learning important lessons for yourself and your whole life.

I am happy to hear its not real hot out because that would make things harder.

Enjoy every experience – you are SOOOO special!

Love,

Nana

10 07 2007
Mark Douglas

Hola a me esposa Susan y mi hija Paige!

Hi guys, I am so proud of you for going on this mission trip. I can see from the blogs that everyone (CRC and the residents there) are being greatly blessed. I am praying daily for you and we miss you a lot. But it’s a small sacrifice for the great good you are doing for God and for the people of Tecate!

We love you
Mark and Steven

11 07 2007
Sue Garvelink

Josh,
Reading the others experiences that they have had so far is very touching. I’m so glad that you went.

I just recieved some news that I needed to share with you. I thought maybe you could think about it and deal with it before you hear from the guys when you get home here.
Coach has taken a head assistant and pitching coach job at Texas A&M.
His e-mail told of his love for all you guys and how proud he is of each and everyone of you. One of his quotes in his e-mail, I thought was fitting for you to see now is “True character is revealed when no one is looking”.
The team is having the party this Sat. night at 6:30 and he was hoping to see all of you then.
Love you Hon,
Mom
P.S. Andrea….. You are a true blessing to everyone around you. Strangers alike. People tend to go toward those that they feel comfortable around, and they feel something special around those type of people. You my friend, are that kind of special person that has a gift of caring and loving others. God has great plans for you. Blessings to you Andrea.
Sue

11 07 2007
Andrew Tucker

hey kate, i hope you’re having a good time down in mexico. i’m jealous, because i have never been there. you better take a whole lot of pictures so i can see what your trip was all about. i thought about it, and now that you’re a builder you had better be up on time to come to work with me when you get home. i’ve got a hammer and a chalk line waiting with your name on it. let us know again how things are going.

11 07 2007
Kelsey Tucker

Hey Kate! Hows it going? It sounds like it is going good. Have you been using any of your Spanish? hehe. Well, I will keep praying for you and thinking of you. See you on Saturday(conference grounds…yeah!)! Love you:)

11 07 2007
Ginger Waterway

Jake,
We are having fun reading the blog everyday. It sounds like God is already moving mightly there. We are praying that your heart is soft to the Spirit and your will is strong for the Lord!

Katie has been calling for you at the stairs. When that didn’t work today she tried calling you on the phone. She even went to the couch and threw off all the pillows – but that just isn’t much fun either without her big brother throwing them back at her! She is missing you, and so are all the rest of us. We are looking forward to hearing what God had for you this week and how he used you for His Kingdom.

Love you,
Mom, Dad, Alli & Katie

11 07 2007
Sheryl Boes

Hi Allison, and Kristen, Katelyn, Devin, and team
Love reading the blog everyday… sounds like you are working hard and your construction skills are definitely being used.
Allison and Kristen – hope are you using all the Spanish that you learned from Miss Kuipers 🙂
We trust that the Lord is using you to make an impact in the lives of the people you are serving – and that he is also impacting you.
Continue to shine for Jesus!
… and don’t eat too many tacos.
Love you lots,
Mom

Leave a comment