VBS IS ON!

24 07 2007

april singing

VBS is quite possibly one of my favorite times of the whole year. It’s busy, but such an incredible week. After seeing God at work in Mexico, it’s been great to see Him so visibly at work at home too. One of the best parts for me today was seeing people catch on to the motions as we sang in the opening and closing programs. During one song we sing “…and give Him the glory, great things He has done.” The motions for that line have us all putting our hands high in the air. I wish everyone could see this from the music team’s perspective as 600 some kids and leaders put their hands in the air and praise God. It is an amazing view. God really has done and will continue to do some great things at VBS.

As an intern, I have been blessed with the opportunity to be a middle school leader as well as sing on the music team. As nervous as I was for this, I have been more than pleasantly surprised by my group of 5th, 6th, and 7th grade “green beans” (we are the green group). Judging from their determination to get me in the dunk tank on Friday, I’m assuming they’ve warmed up to me at least a little. It’s been so much fun to watch and interact with them as they answer questions about Ross and Luke’s teaching, make crafts, and play games. It has also been great to see kids from Briarwood coming to VBS. It’s so rewarding to see the results of the investment that we’ve been making in their lives. One boy in particular has been growing and changing before our eyes this summer. From a quiet, shy, and somewhat scared kid in June, I have seen him grow and display some great leadership skills with the younger ones at Kids Club. I was so happy to see him come to VBS yesterday and today. However, there is another boy who desperately needs prayer and attention. He didn’t come today, but from what I learned about him yesterday, he sounded pretty hopeless and joyless. It broke my heart to see him like that. He is definitely in need of some love.

It’s hard to believe that tomorrow is already the half way point of the week. Although each morning flies by, it is a very demanding three hours. And as I experienced today, there is still a lot of work and planning to do. Continue to pray for all the leaders so they will be able to keep up an energetic and fun but also educational and loving environment. I can’t begin to describe how much I love VBS and how excited I am for the next three days.

April


Actions

Information

Leave a comment